September 11th, 2001

20110911-125711.jpg

To say that September 11th, 2001 was a tragedy would be an understatement. It changed the lives of everyone in the world in a few short minutes.

I remember the day very well. I was working for a heating and air company. I was a delivery driver, but was taking some time away from that to build a website for the company. My manager came in to my office, and he asked if I heard that a small plane had crashed in to the WTC. I went to CNN.com and found a quick story about it. Then a few minutes later he came back and said the second tower was hit by a Jet, and that they saw it hit, live on TV. I called my best friends at the time and woke him up. I then decided it was best if I just left work as it would not be a productive day.

On my drive to my friends house, I tried to call my dad. He travels a lot for his job, and to be honest, I had no idea if he was in town, or out traveling. No answer. I tried to call my mom, and could not get in touch with her either. When I arrived at my friends house, we sat glued to the TV for the rest of the day. I did not leave there until after 10pm that day. I did finally get in touch with my mom, and she confirmed my dad was fine, and in town.

That day, so many things ran through my mind. I remember when the plane hit the Pentagon. I was wondering if this was the start of WWIII! That may sound crazy today, but at the time, all we knew was that we were under attack.

When they shut down the airspace that day, it was eerie. My friend lived at the end of the runway here in Minneapolis, and it fell silent. The only noise you heard was the sound of fighter jets circling the city in to the night.

Life will never be the same.

Mahalo!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 11th, 2001

  1. Lelly says:

    I had the same thought about my dad – couldn’t remember if he was in town or traveling. My aunt & uncle got refitted to Greenland for several days.

Leave a Reply

