Addiction Craziness

I have been on Klonopin for almost 3 months now.  I take 3MG per day max dose.  I am now trying to come off the drug, and it is making me crazy!  When I take the drug, it makes me want to sleep, when I do not take the drug, it makes me want to sleep.  I also take sleep meds to help me sleep.  I know none of this makes sense.  I can not understand it myself.

When I get ready for bed, I lay there, toss and turn for HOURS!  If I take my sleep meds, then I sleep like a rock until the morning.  The other issue I have is, I no longer am able to wake up to my alarm clock.  Since I do not have a “normal” job, this would not be an issue, but I have a child who needs to be up and get ready for school so it does become a huge issue.

I notice this for my usual, daily routine.  Wake up groggy for the first 30 min. feel great, lot’s of energy and happy until 12 or 1.  Then I crash for 2+ hours, wake up and feel like crap for the rest of the day.  I find the Klonopin makes me want to sleep all day long after the noon hour.  If I do not take the Klonopin, I still feel like sleeping all day, and it makes my morning miserable.

I get that I am supposed to taper off the Klonopin, but I am seriously considering stopping it completely, and dealing with the nasty withdraw effects for that short period of time (3-6 months)

I will start this weekend, and see how it goes.  I will keep you all posted.

Mahalo!

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Depression, OCD and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Addiction Craziness

  1. Great perspective on something that can be quite taboo to talk about.

    Mental health issues can really be debilitating and it’s great to here other stories about the experiences they went through. Sometimes just hearing from someone else that shares, or can empathize, with your pain can mean the world.

    I hope others find your site as useful as I have.

    Cheers,
    David
    http://www.allthingsdepression.com

Leave a Reply

